Andrew Shearer header
  • Andrew Shearer @ Global Cafe 2011
  • ....Andrew has the gift of making people feel good about themselves... Maija, Reading Musician
  • Cold Heart Andrew Shearer; cover star: Emilia Maria Zbuka
  • A cracking singer / songwriter Aquillo, Farnham Band

NEWS 2010

28th March 2010

Blog, Mailing List Subscription, Unmastered Demos, YouTube, MySpace, Tinnitus


I thought I'd just update you on what's been happening.

I guess the main news is that I've developed tinnitus, which has delayed things somewhat. I don't know if I'm being a bit of a wimp but I've avoided doing very much audio work for the last five weeks, just to try and let the ears recover, which I think they have a bit. I've been to see the doctor who wants me to see an audiologist but that hasn't happened yet. Anyway, I feel that the ears have made sufficient improvement for me to resume work today.

That was the bad news, the good news is that I've had time to catch up with the business / admin side of things. Hopefully the eagle-eyed amongst you will see some improvements to the website. Those that aren't eagle-eyed can now actually see the website, as the general font has increased in size. (I know it took me a long time to do, sorry!)

What else is new?

1. I've added a Blog as there were "news" type things that I wanted to post but I didn't really think warranted a newsletter. (I know it's not really a blog but I couldn't think of a better name for it).

2. The mailing list has been improved. For those of you that are on the old system (pre-February 2010), it would be helpful if you could re-subscribe as described on this page so that I can migrate you all to the new system. However if you don't wish to, it's not a problem (just unhelpful (:-) ).

3. Finally, to try and whet your appetite with respect to what to expect from At The Water's Edge, I've published some unmastered demos. Having not heard the songs for six weeks, I've got to say I'm quite pleased. By no means perfect, but they're not actually too bad. I think perhaps having a break has been beneficial with respect to getting some perspective on them and seeing what final adjustments need to be made. Anyway I hope you like them, they can be found at several locations:

a. The individual song pages

b. YouTube

c. MySpace

If, by any chance you should really like any of the demos, then they can be downloaded for free from here.

I guess that's it. I'm really looking forward to the day when I can say I've finished and everything's available, hopefully it will be sometime between May and July.

Finally, it's just left for me to wish you all a very Happy Easter. I hope you all have a great time.

With Best Wishes,